Hawks’ memorable campaign recognised at SWSA awards night

Headshot of Justin Fris
Justin FrisHarvey-Waroona Reporter
It was a memorable season for soccer in Harvey.
Camera IconIt was a memorable season for soccer in Harvey. Credit: Harvey Hawks Football Club

The Harvey Hawks Football Club faithful are unlikely to forget their 2022 division one campaign in the South West Soccer Association anytime soon.

Aside from the thrill of having two sides in division 1 this season, both sides finished in the top-two — with the club’s “second” team runaway champions.

With Jeramiah Markson — who finished with 27 goals — banging in goals for fun, the Hawks’ second XI ended the campaign with a 12-point cushion by season’s end.

Along with scoring a phenomenal 102 goals, the Hawks conceded a miserly 26, which was more than bottom sides Dynamos and Australind managed all season.

Despite the title sewn up weeks earlier, it was fitting both Hawks sides met on the final day of the home and away season, with a Markson brace enough to give his side a tight 2-1 win.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Award recipients

Charity Shield: (Women) - Hay Park; Shenade Baker (Final MVP), (Men) Dalyellup; Kosta Stavrou (Final MVP); Pioneer Cup: (Women) - Hay Park defeated Australind; Rochelle Hammond (Final MVP); (Men) - Dalyellup defeated Busselton City, Chadley Edwards (Final MVP); South West Cup: (Women) Dunsborough; Kashia Mellor (Yvonne Jones Medal); (Men) Dalyellup; Max Ababio (Ron Moss Medal); Club excellence award - Football Margaret River; Fair play award - Manjimup Rovers; Premier men: Busselton City (champions), Dalyellup (runner up), Martin Ryan (golden boot), Adam Guthridge (golden glove), Jack Eades (fairest and best); Premier women: Dunsborough (champions), Hay Park (runner up), Chelsea Braam (golden boot), Eliza Sheehan (golden glove), Rochelle Hammond and Shenade Baker (tied fairest and best); Division 1: Harvey 2 (champions), Harvey 1 (runner up), David Tomlinson (golden boot), Robert Jimmy (golden glove), Cody Ward (fairest and best)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails